OptimizeMentor Redirection Options

Redirection pages are important for membership sites as they help guide users through the site to get to where they need to be. OptimizeMentor includes some default settings that are global, and you can also set these on a per Membership basis to override the default redirection behaviors. 

When you install OptimizeMentor for the first time, you’ll see a set of pages created on your site.  These pages are automatically selected in the default redirect options. Each of these pages can be edited in the OptimizeBuilder, or completely replaced with any other pages on your site. 

The ”
After Login” page is the page your members will see after they login. This is often referred to as a “Membership Home Page”

The ”
After Registration” page is the page your new members will see after they register through WordPress (in most cases this won’t be used if you don’t have Open Registration turned on, but we suggest to leave the page there.

The ”
Content Protected” page is what a visitor to your site will get redirected to if they are not logged in and are trying to access pages that are protected by a Membership

The ”
Dripped content not available” is used if a member tries to get access to content that is on a drip schedule, and has not reached the set time for the content to be available yet. 

The ”
No Access / Upgrade” page is the page that a member will land on if they try to access content they do not have the correct Membership for. This is a great page to use to ask them to upgrade. There are endless ways this can be used to promote Memberships that members do not have access to. 

How to Change the OptimizeMentor Redirection Defaults

Redirection Defaults are the default redirection pages set in OptimizeMentor. To select new pages for the OptimizeMentor Redirection Defaults, you’ll navigate to “Mentor > Settings” and then click on Redirection Settings

From there, you can choose other pages for the redirection settings if you like. Just click the drop down and choose the page you want. Don’t forget to click the blue “Save changes” button to save the options you selected.

Override OptimizeMentor Redirection Defaults for Memberships

If you need a different redirection page for different Memberships, you can override these in each Membership you create. To do this, just navigate to “Mentor > Memberships” and click “Edit” on the Membership you want to change these options for. 

Then click on “Redirection Settings”

Now, you’ll want to turn on the option to Override General Settings Redirects (which just means to override the default redirection options). 

As soon as you turn on the Override option, you’ll then be able to select the redirection pages you want for this specific Membership. Don’t forget to click the “Save changes” button at the bottom in order to save the options you selected.

How to Set the Redirection Priority

If you have more than one Membership, and you have chosen to override the default redirections, You can drag and drop the order of the Memberships from the main Memberships settings area to set the Priority. When a member has multiple memberships, the redirections will be determined by the highest Membership on the list of Memberships that you set here. 

The Membership on the top has the highest priority and if that is one of the memberships a member has, then the redirection options will pull from that Membership. 

You can change the priority of a Membership by simply dragging and dropping the order of the Memberships

Our Recommendation for Redirection Settings

In order to keep things simple, and not get too confused about the redirection options, we would suggest using just the OptimizeMentor Redirection Defaults. Especially for the login redirection as that can get tricky and may not always have the desired outcome if a user has multiple Memberships. 

Our suggestion is to have a single “After Login” redirection page which lists the Memberships and/or Courses that a member has access to. We are currently working on a couple of new elements that will make this easier. We’ll update this guide when those new features are released. 

You can override other redirection options and just use the same “After Login” page for all the memberships if you like, and still have different pages for other redirect options. 

If you have any questions or need help understanding these options, please reach out to our team and we’ll be happy to help.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!
Contact Support